Three Things That I Will Burn This Weekend

WOW Prompt- Three Things That I Will Burn This Weekend

Life is always a roller coaster. Life is not without pain and travail. They are necessary to new awareness which prompts growth. And the gift of growth is joy. Pain and joy are thus intertwined. It is possible to feel only the burden of pain and not the exhilaration of joy, however. My new life has given me this new option. It guarantees me that every hurdle will be lightened. The knowledge that joy is inherent, within every experience, is mine, now and forever.

I want to burn three things that I want to burn this weekend, i.e., anger, jealousy , criticism. With reference to Holika .,  Holika coaxed young Prahlad to sit in her lap and she herself took her seat in a blazing fire. The legend has it that Holika had to pay the price of her sinister desire by her life. Holika was not aware that the boon worked only when she entered the fire alone. Prahlad, who kept chanting the name of Lord Naarayana all this while, came out unharmed, as the lord blessed him for his extreme devotion. Thus, Holi derives its name from Holika. And, is celebrated as a festival of victory of good over evil.Holi is also celebrated as the triumph of a devotee. As the legend depicts that anybody, howsoever strong, cannot harm a true devotee. And, those who dare torture a true devotee of god shall be reduced to ashes. I want to burn all these three evils of my life into the fire. Let flag of Holy wave high in Thy name.

I was so compulsive and obsessive not only about the things that I believed in but also about the things I didn’t believe in. I was extreme. Everything I did was exaggerated. I either raced through life at ten thousand miles an hour or was in neutral. Balance was absent.I lost everything due my anger, my career , my love and what not . I am a work in progress. The business of anger and resentment is infinitely grave. That may be dubious luxury for others but not for me. We should look for spiritual progress not for spiritual perfection. The spiritual life is not a theory, we have to live it. Serenity is like a gyroscope that lets us keep our balance no matter what the turbulence swirls around us. It is a realistic way of seeing the world , accompanied by inner peace , strength and acceptance. And that is a state of mind – one pointedness , worth aiming for.

Every day is a day when I must go along with the vision of God’s will into all of my activities and affairs of life. “How can I best serve Thee—Thy will ,not mine,be done.” These are thoughts which must go with me constantly. I can exercise my willpower along this line all I wish. It is the proper use of the will.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’

Leave a Reply

